type of wire should be used?

radrian

Jan 2, 2003
Visit site
I am new to this hobbie and really not sure what I'm doing. My question is what type of wire should be used to wire the layout? My layout is HO with nickle silver code 100 track. Does it make a difference if I use copper or aluminum wire and what gauge?

billk

Jun 12, 2001
Marion, IA, USA
First of all, I don't think you should use aluminum wire if you are planning on soldering it to anything. I believe (maybe someone can confirm) that it is difficult or impossible to solder, and that there may be corrosion problems if it comes into contact with copper.

As to what size, things to consider are DC or DCC (the latter typically needs heavier wiring) and the length of the wires (the longer the wire the heavier it may need to be.)

As a starting point, let's say use No 16 AWG (12-14 if DCC) for bus wiring, and No. 20-22 for feeders - the bus being the long wires under the layout and the feeders being the short wires connecting the bus to the rails. Bigger is better, or at least won't hurt, except when soldering to the rails.

Sort of a tangent, but does anybody know what AWG a rail would be equivalent to? (Code 55, for example?)

YakkoWarner

Mar 10, 2001
Orange County, NC.
www.the-gauge.com
I used telephone wire to do all of my wiring. Comes in a wonderful variety of colors and I have found that even at full voltage pulling at full capacity, my least efficient locomotive pulls less than 1 amp.

I model N scale but I don't think you need any thing larger than 16 AWG for ANY model train.

(...3/4" plywood, 4X4 frames, 12 AWG wires... you people over-build everything!)

I did get a bit of good news this weekend, The 220V dryer outlet in my garage was run with a neutral and a ground so I was able to put in a 50 Amp sub panel and dedicate one circuit to my air compressor, one to the welder and run all new lighting and outlet circuits in the garage.:D