Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by COX 47, Apr 25, 2008.

1. COX 47

COX 47 Member

This is a turntable I have been working on off and on for a couple of years..The pit is a round cake pan from wally world..The bridge is wood with Atlas bridges cut apart and glued to it...It turns on a 1/4 inch plug to turn on and carry the wiring also makes it easy to remove bridge if you need to...

Cox 47
  2. mcbane666

mcbane666 Member

Thats a great idea, love the electrical.
  3. bigsteel

bigsteel Call me Mr.Tinkertrain

the electrical connection is genius,i never thought of the shaft becoming the electrical connector also.--josh
  4. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Active Member

How did you isolate it electrically from the metal pan?
  5. COX 47

COX 47 Member

MT. Man....There is a plywood disc calked in the bottom of the cake pan and the female conector is mounted in the plywood...This isn't a very good photo but it shows the bottom....Cox 47

6. Herc Driver

Herc Driver Active Member

OK - now that's genius.
  7. Ralph

Ralph Remember...it's for fun!

I'm very impressed with the pie plate idea and the electronics. I'm expecting a run on pie plates at Walmart now! :) Really nice work!
  8. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Active Member

Ah, so...Grasshopper! Very nicely done! :thumb:

I especially like the concept as a means of adding a turntable to a layout at a later date. Just cut a hole, drop in the pan arrangement and fasten in place. The whole thing could hang beneath the layout without a problem.
  9. TrainNut

TrainNut Ditat Deus

Knowing me, I'd end up going through 10 pans before I finally managed to get that hole drilled perfectly in the center!
  10. steamhead

steamhead Active Member

Very nicely done.....Thanks for the idea...!!!
    Have you come up with a way of turning the bridge..?? Or will this be an ol' timer type...Man powered..?
  11. eightyeightfan1

eightyeightfan1 Now I'm AMP'd

Nice job.