Turnout Wiring N scale

jland31

Apr 12, 2002
Ocala, Fl.
Visit site
Hi Folks;
New to this hobby & enjoying every minute of it.
Got a 4'6" x 8' N scale layout in work. I've got 12 Peco Insulfrog turnouts with Peco PL-10 motors.
I'm not good with wiring/electricity but am learning very slowly.

Can some kind person direct me to articles, literature, booklets etc. that will help me design a control panel layout with switches ,indicator lights, & wiring methods.

I'm using DCC to run Locos but wish to operate turnouts the old tried & proven way.

shamus

Registered Member
Dec 17, 2000
UK
Hi jland31, welcome to the gauge.
Hope this helps.
Wiring a Railroad and using a Control panel

I have been asked many times over the last 50 years, how do you wire a model railroad for block control, then make a control panel to control the trains afterwards. So for those how are about to start in the wonderful hobby of ours, here’s how I have always wired a model railroad up to a control panel. 
Once all your track and points (turnouts) are down and ready for wiring, first make a simple drawing of your Trackplan on an A4 sheet of paper. This Trackplan you draw will help in determining where to place each D.P.D.T. (Double Pole Double Throw centre off switch) Every place where you have back to back points, need to have a power supply, if you are using Electro frogs. Even if you are using standard insulfrogs, if you want proper block control, then I would suggest that you follow these instructions as for Electro frogs.
btbfeed.jpg

This Trackplan below is not any particular plan, just a way of showing how to wire up the track & Points. Below the track plan is a diagram showing how to wire up a D.P.D.T. switch, note that two controllers are used even for a single piece of track. , (I always wire my switches so that when the switch is in the up position, it is feeding the outer tracks)