Turning circle of an n scale train

Krilli

hey, i'm kinda new to this stuff, i was just wondering how many inches in diameter is the smallest turning circle of an n scale train?? i just need to know before i spend 400 bucks on a train set that i might not have enough room for. Cheers Timo

TrainNut

Ditat Deus
Standard minimum radius is 9 3/4. You can however make it a little tighter by using flex track. I've personally gone as tight as 7" but it really limits you to what you can run around that tight of a curve. Stick with the 9 3/4.

nolatron

It also depends on what type of engines and rolling stock you are running. 6-axle diesels and long passenger cars or unit cars like double stacks like probably a 11" bare minimum.

Krilli

thanks, i just gotta work within a 47" by about 24" so something like 9"- 9 3/4" would prob be my max. i got no room in the house, dad occupy the studio with his machinery. so i'm only limited to my desk in my room :( shouldnt be too long before i'm up n kickin on this project.
Cheers Timo

Krilli

yeah i did put that into thought n included them into the 24"X47", i dont want to go too far over the table. sucks cause i gotta find somewhere else for my laptop and sound system :(

Mountain Man

It's kind of an oddball thought, but how much room do you have over your desk?

You might be able to build a platform over your desk that allows the desk to remain entirely free while giving you expanded space. :confused:

Krilli

haha na i still gotta find somewhere to store it cause it cant sit in my room for ever. i've allowing for a few more inches in width. i've already started my floor plan. might go get myself a new train this week or next, already got some trees n lights in the mail :D

hey has anyone done a beach scene yet??? cause i'm sticking one in, would like some tips if anyone has any. cheers

Mountain Man

Sure:

1. Don't use real water.

2. Keep all sand and other small particulates away from all electronic devices.