Trireme and Brireme building for wargaming

Sianelle

Intrepid Imaginatrix
Hello everyone, I enjoy modelmaking as well as Ancients and fantasy wargaming. I'm particularly keen to build model Triremes and Biremes to add an extra diamension to my games. I've seen the wonderful Roman Seas models, but with my middle aged eyesight being strained enough already with painting 1/72 scale figures I'm not about to start painting 6mm figures for any reason!
I'm not especially interested in kits, - especially those you pay for as I don't have a great deal of money for my hobby and as I don't believe in the use of credit cards for religious reasons on-line sales websites are out of the question anyway. What I really like is scratchbuilding, but since I've never built a model ship before I'm not entirely sure about how to make a start.

I've found this Russian website that has a Trireme ..... http://jtdigest.narod.ru/dig3_02/museum1.htm It's too small of course, but I thought I might use it as a guide to make a larger ship. I've been told that ships for wargaming shouldn't have too much fine detail and should be robust because they get handled a lot which can lead to breakages. This suits me fine as I'm not wanting to build anything approaching museum quality.
First of all I thought I'd build up the little Russian paper Trireme so I could get the feel of how to go about making a ship model. I've messed about with some Russian paper models before and it always amazes me just how intricate they can be as well as how well they turn out as models.
Anyway once the little Trireme is built I'll then have a shot at increasing it in size. Just as well paper and cardboard is cheap because I'm sure the household paper recycling bundle I put out for collection each week is going to increase before I get the design right. :?

Sianelle

Intrepid Imaginatrix