Traxxas Stampede

Discussion in 'RC Offroad Forum' started by dp2209, Feb 23, 2006.

1. dp2209

dp2209 New Member

Hi, I am just getting started into rc electric's and have puchased a stampede..I want to hop it up and was wondering what type motor, esc and gears should I use, should I do anything to the transmission? And has anyone ever did the "put the motor in water" to break it in as I saw in a Traxxas form? Any other advise would be welcome, thanks
  2. Camaro454

Camaro454 Member

haha well i never heard of breaking in a eletric motor by runnign it under water but it doesnt sound like a great idea, that can cause crosition and ive had brushs go bad after they get wet, Im not 2 sure about wut gear ratio u should run but u shouldnt have to touch the tranny, in my Stampede i seriers wired 2 3000 battery backs togther and taped them on top of each other, then i used a Trinity Monster Stock motor with stock gearing, i also used my MSC becuase in my option for speed a MSC is better being its basiclly a toggle switch, if u r going to seris wire the packs ur going to have to run the reciver on 4 AA batterys or else ull frie up all ur servos and stuff.. iff u do these simple things ull have the truck runnig 35mph+.. i was very pleased with the results i had and i only melted a coupe wires off the MSC, also let the truck cool down if ur going to run dual battery packs... lol have fun and good luck, i have a ton of fun with mine
  3. mavrick0

mavrick0 Member

Well take that last post and ignore it. It's not done a lot anymore but you can break in a motor using water it's just a matter of when it's done spray it out with motor cleaner and then put a drop of oil on each bearing/bushing and you'll be good.