Trainz simulator

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by medic1772, Dec 7, 2004.

1. medic1772

medic1772 New Member

I am a beginner. have never built a layout,only had toy trains that I ran in an oval.In trying to learn would the computer program Trainz simultor be helpful in planning a layout and learning about railroad operations.My dad is retired from CSX but does not want to model, says he road trains long enough.I am a Medic,but have always loved Trains.Thanks for any advice on this.
  2. MasonJar

MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

From what I know about Trainz, I would say yes, it could be useful. I think I read that it is possible to create and run a layout sized "world" in Trainz, but not in Microsoft Train Sim.

You might also try looking over at the Model Railroader forums, I seem to recall there was a lot of interest in sims over the summer.

3. CalFlash

CalFlash Member

Might I suggest one of the track planning programs? I have PlanIt3D which is a 3D CAD type program that will allow you to run trains on your completed "layout". The bonus is that when you are ready to actually build it, the program allows you to design the benchwork, wiring and just about anything you can think of. The learning curve is high but the learned skills and results are worth it.
  4. SteamerFan

SteamerFan Member

the trainz simulator will definatly give you a feel for how a real train operates. even let's you build vertual worlds to test things out.

want to know how many cars a real sd40 can pull up that 2.73% grade without helpers? Tainz will do it, even stalls the engine if it's under powered for the task. Track planning software won't do that for you.

If you're wanting to do some prototypical work and have no practical knowledge of how railroads work, Trainz will help you learn. Take what you learn in trainz and then design and build a model railroad that seems more realistic than just building one to perscieved ideas.
  5. RailRon

RailRon Active Member