Track slows Train

jeremy2017

Nov 1, 2002
Visit site
hello, I am new to this forum but not new to model railroading. I just recently set up my old layout and it consists of two ovals each divided into four blocks. in two of my blocks the train goes fast at one end, but slows down near the end of the block. on the other one the train slows down where the power is being fed to the block. Can anyone Explain whats happening and what to do? I thought about soldering the track together so that the current has more of a chance to make it through all of the track but I don't want to make my track un changable. there is nothing wrong with my Locomotives because they move fast in some area's. any input would be great thanks.

Jeremy:)

Ravensfan

Oct 16, 2002
planet earth
Visit site
I'm no expert, but you stated "old" layout which could mean that you have corrosion/deposits on the track that decreases its ability to conduct electricity. Is the track clean, or has it been cleaned lately?

jeremy2017

Nov 1, 2002
Visit site
well you see, we had the house redone and the whole layout had to be packed up and put away for a year and now that I've set it up again this problem has comeforth. All the track has been inspected and is only about three years old anyways. that can't be the problem.

jon-monon

Aug 15, 2002
Cobblers Knob, IN
www.2guyzandsumtrains.com
He's talkin' bout a thin layer of slime you might not even be able to see, jest 'nuff to block off that electro-magic half way. You should take a clean white rag and put some goo gone on it it and rub down the track real good. Adding goo gone and turnin' the rag as you go. See all that black yucky stuff? Now you should read Shamus's track cleanin' tips down at the bottom, in the archives, the academy :) It's likely your problem.