Track question

Woodrow67

Dec 7, 2004
Yes, I am a newbee to the model train world. So I am sure this is a very beginner type question ,but here goes. I want to set up a small track in my basement using e-z track.Because I have no permanent location. I have to use a table that is used for multiple things . So I want to place a board on the table that I can remove when The table will be used for other purposes. So I will need to fasten the track to the board when I have the setup the way I want it to be. So my question is how do I fasten the track to the board ? Small screws. tacks, etc? I will be using bachmann e-z track. As I said I am new to this and am trying to get my young son interested ,he is 3yrs. I will be starting with a 4' x 6' board I may go bigger in time but this will fit my budget for now. Any help is greatly appreciated...:)

Thanks!

yellowlynn

Jul 7, 2001
Whitehouse, Tx USA
Visit site
There are several ways of fastening the track, tacking, gluing, etc. I use a good caulk. After the track is set exactly the way I want it, Ilift it, shoot a SMALL bead of caulk, smooth it, or spread it with my finger, then set the track on it. It sticks in place immediately but can still be moved and adjusted. Run a train to make sure all is right, then leave it for an hour or so. After that, it is solidly on, but if you want to remove it, slide a knife under it and it pops off. Not so with glue or liquid nail. They are permanent. I'm not saying this is the best way, but I use this method and am happy with it.

Lynn

SteamerFan

Sep 3, 2004
Hit the local Train hobby shop and get some track nails. E-Z Track has preset holes in it for just this purpose. or you can use caulk or liquid nails (a personal favorite of many modelers), but the nails should be sufficient if you plan to move the board about alot.

wjstix

Nov 18, 2004
I would go with the track nails, if you glue the track down now, it will make it harder to make changes / additions later.

wjstix

Nov 18, 2004