Track building materials....question.

YellowHawk

Hello everyone...I am new to model railroading, but I'm anxious to get started. I was given an Athearn John Deere Model 'B' Express Authentic HO Scale Train Set for Christmas. It seems to be a pretty good set. The locomotive is an F7A locomotive w/ dual flywheels, operating headlights and 5 pole skewed armature motor.
I just found out, through some research, that the set comes with a 14 piece oval of Life-Like Power-Loc track with built in roadbed. My question is, should I purchase more Power-Loc track to go with what I have and expand my set, or go with another style of track without the integrated roadbed? The Power-Loc track is certainly more expensive. Thanks for you thoughts and advice.

mhdishere

I've personally never used track with integral roadbed, but that won't stop me from giving my opinion on the matter :D

Advantages:
Easy to use.

No need to worry about cutting it.

Good if you want to set up and take down repeatedly (I'm thinking here of something like a Christmas tree layout, set it up at Christmas time, take it down and store it away the rest of the year). I've been considering an On30 set-up around the tree for the past couple years and if I did that I'd probably use this type of track.

Disadvanges:
Cost: As you pointed out, it's expensive, and if you have a large layout with lots of track that could get to be an issue.

Limitations: You're dealing with fixed radius curves, and fixed angles. For free-flowing trackwork you'd be better off with flex track and "regular" turnouts. Of course the ultimate of this is hand-laid track, but that's probably not for a beginner. Plenty of beautiful layouts have been built with flex track and Atlas turnouts. Flex track has to be cut though.

The final answer is "it depends", do you want to build a layout or do you just want something to run around the tree or for the kids to play with on the carpet?

YellowHawk