To solder or not to solder

jasbourre

I got my cork glued down, now I'm interested in peoples oppinions on soldering, do I solder just the curves, everything or nothing at all, please help.

And since you are reading this, how about glue vs nails. Your oppinion natures, cus I'm not sure what to do here, please help.

Thanks

Bongo Boy

I've never built a track, so I have no personal experience. I just picked up a Kalmbach book on Garden Railroading (for beginners), and one of the authors there strongly recommends soldering everthing except turnouts. Makes sense to me, however my experience is that only copper and brass are actually solderable. The author suggests stainless is solderable--something fundamental must have changed in the past few years, I guess.

Is this a good idea? I don't know.

SD90

Hello, I used a latex contact cement to hold down my cork roadbed and track. I'd solder the curves, but leave the straight sections for expansion.

Matthyro

Will always be re-membered
I solder all railjoiners to make sure current reaches all points but do cut expansion gaps where necessary for expansion.

seanm

Depends on your situation? Are you in a place were there are wild swings of temp? If so, leave some expansion in the straits. DO solder feeders to the rails often. DO solder the joiners on curves... the straits are up to you. DO NOT rely on joiners to conduct electricity. They will for a while, but once they fill with crud and corrosion, they will not.

Bongo Boy