Tips for smoothing sectional track..

JasonRP

Oct 28, 2005
Hi All,

I know I know, I should be using flex-track, right?

Well, for right now, while I am still a total newbie, I am experimenting with the kind of features I want (and that I can squeeze in)to my small layout design, I have been using sectional track.

So far, I've just put EZ track together on my carpet (it keeps the rails away/seperated from the carpet, so I don't think I'm picking up anything into the guts of my rolling stock, etc.) Hey, "it lifts AND seperates!!" HAHAHA

Anyway, it is a little bit of a bumpy road (at the joints).. What is the best way to get a very smooth track when using sectional track pieces?

1) Is the answer that I need to upgrade to the Kato Uni-track to get smooth rails?
2) Is the answer that I need to just mount my EZ track to plywood or some other suitable base?
3) Is the answer that I need to do #2 (with any kind of sectional track I buy), and then once it is together sand it with a sanding block to smooth over all the joints? Or is the sanding a huge mistake?

Thanks for any ideas you have!
Jason

eightyeightfan1

Now I'm AMP'd
Jun 18, 2002
Torrington, Ct.
#2. Sectional track should be mounted on some sort of base. This will stop the track from flexing at the joints, usually when the loco runs over them. And when run on a soft surface such as a rug. Bare, hardwood floors are good if its a tempoary thing.
Un-Trak was designed for those people that want to run tempoary layouts(Ones running around the Xmas tree)on rugs.
Mounting sectional track on plywood should prevent you from having to sand the joints. Which, unless the joints have been soldered, is a bad thing.

Drew1125

Jan 28, 2001
Hi Jason! :)

JasonRP said:
...2) Is the answer that I need to just mount my EZ track to plywood or some other suitable base? ...

...and the answer is...BINGO!! ;)

You will never get a smooth ride on the carpet...I know...I know...you just wanna get those trains RUNNING!