Tips for holding while glue sets?

Discussion in 'Tips, Tutorials & Tools' started by RCBrust, Mar 3, 2007.

1. RCBrust

RCBrust New Member

Hello, I'm new to card modeling and am wondering if anyone has any tips or techniques they use for supporting various parts while the glue dries, especially jounts that have pressure on them.

For example, say you are forming a rectangular piece into a cylinder. I am planning on starting by pre-shaping the curve into the piece. Then I'll glue the connecting strip onto one side and let that dry. Finally, I'll form the cylinder. Now, when this final joint is made and the cylinder is complete, would you perhaps apply a piece of waxed paper and then some kind of weight to hold the joint? Or are there better ways to hold something like this?

2. MOS95B

MOS95B Member

Great question!!

I'll start by admitting I suck at circles and tubes. But, I have developed my method that produces good tubes about 85-90 % of the time...

I have a piece of dowel, about 1/4 inch diamter, that I run behind the joint. I then hold each end with the pad of each thumb. Then, I have The Missus press down the rest of the joint for me. If/when she's not available, I carefully rub the joint along an old mouse pad I have nearby.

I spread my glue thin enough, as well, that within about 15 to 20 seconds it is dry enough to bond on it's own.

I can't wait to learn better tricks from the pro's though....
  3. ekuth

ekuth Active Member

I've found an indespensible aid to be alligator clips.

You can buy them cheap from Radio Shack in sizes ranging from tiny to large.

Take a pair of pliers and bend the points inwards on the larger size clips to provide a flat surface that won't leave marks on the paper.

Works like a charm! :)
  4. rmks2000

rmks2000 Member

Radio Shack also has flat copper clips for soldering.
  5. rlwhitt

rlwhitt Active Member