technique questions

Discussion in 'Tips, Tutorials & Tools' started by Toronto, Mar 12, 2007.

1. Toronto

Toronto Member

hi, i am a newbie in paper model. I am trying to build the Star wars X-wing paper model. I want to know no matter how much i try, the body of the plane dont seems to be parallel at all, it will not be noticed until you really get a close look to it. But i really want it to look perfect! As for the engine, it gives me an even bigger problem because you need to put a piece of paper into the cillinda shape engine, but i always failed to put that paper to where it belongs, and it looks so out of place.

And the other project that i was building is a starcraft siege tank. it is working well until i encountered a major problem. The glue i am using is changing the color of the tank, and the paper dont always get into the shape i want.
  2. paper warrior

paper warrior Member

That happens with my glue, just re-touch the edges and keep it on the glue tabs.
  3. cgutzmer

cgutzmer Guest

My two cents :)

Get us a pic of the problem - that will help us a lot in determining what went wrong

What xwing model are you making? I think there are a couple out there but i could be wrong. Link if possible....

For the tank:
    What weight paper are you using? It sounds like there are a couple things going on here - It seems you might be using normal printer paper - its nearly too light for many models and the glue soacks through it pretty easily. That leads into my next question :) what kind of glue are you using? Is it changing the color by soaking through the paper from the back (using too much glue) or where it smears on the paper? (ues a toothpick or soemthing to spread it)

For the shaping: How do you mean its not taking the shape? Are you scoring the parts that have to be folded and curving the curves before you try to glue it? You part should be the finished shape as close as possible before gluing it down :D

Hope that helps!
  4. milenio3