TBA Railway construction started!

seanm

Oct 11, 2004
Sunny CA
www.pegnsean.net
Finally!!

A corporate move required I dismantal my layout and and move into a new home. That was 2 years ago and I am finally ready to start buinding a new layout in the garage.

I am a veteran N-Scaler with lots to learn. I plan on posting updates as I contruct the new layout in this thread.

Here is the current plan.

tbasac4.med.jpg

Details about the plan are in the Track Planning section. Look for TBA listed there.

I have completed the basics of the benchwork, skyboards and lighting. No valance or skirt yet and no ply or track yet. Very soon!

P1010310.med.JPG

P1010311.med.JPG

P1010312.med.JPG

P1010313.med.JPG

steamhead

Apr 16, 2005
Brownsville, TX
Looks like an awesome RR..!!! That's quite an undertaking...

Just my $2.00 (inflation...:mrgreen:)- I presume those are incandescent light bulbs....I have 3 things against them....HOT, EXPENSIVE, and EYESORES. I had a set-up similar to yours and wound up tearing it down and installing fluorescents - better lighting at a fraction of the cost...Trouble was I did this with most of the benchwork & trackwork done...so I was on the edge of disaster happening (I even had to STAND on the layout to get to a spot...). You're still at the point of being able to do it (if you were to do it...) without much trouble.

Good luck & keep us posted..!!! :thumb:

seanm

Oct 11, 2004
Sunny CA
www.pegnsean.net
Gus,

Good point! Actually I used what I had on hand from the last layout. I do plan on converting over to compact flourecent bulbs. I don't particularly like flourescent long tubes because of the flat lighting... but I agree these bulbs do get hot and cost a bit to run. I will convert them all over to compact flourescent once there is a big sale (happens a couple otf times a year) I need about 30.

seanm

Oct 11, 2004
Sunny CA
www.pegnsean.net
Cannonball,