Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by dansls1, May 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dansls1

dansls1 Member

Just found the forum yesterday and wanted to post up saying 'hey' and introducting myself. I have recently kicked my addiction to World of Warcraft (online video game) and decided to dig out some models to work on. I grew up a model freak - and built tons of cars and planes in plastic, eventually finding my dad's stash of paper models and building up most of what he had. There was a 1/2 dozen planes, a couple blimps and the Nimitz aircraft carrier from Wilhelmshaven. I finished a bit over 1/2 the carrier (including at least one of each plane) before I graduated from high school, moved from one parents to the others and pitched every model I owned.
    At that point, I didn't build anything for about 10 years (other than some fantasy figure painting - D&D and the various warhammer games). Then I caught the bug again and ordered an ME 262, a Lutjens and the Bismarck from Wilhelmshaven again. Built the plane - other than landing gear and a few of the exterior 'bits', then it sat on a shelf for another 6-7 years and came out last week.
    I also picked up some 'Model Art' Mercedez model from Toys R Us a few years back for like $5 and started on it a bit. So I'm currently finishing the ME 262 and working on the Mercedez. When the plane is done, I'll probably consider basing the Lutjens and building it with the car as something to do while the glue is drying.
    As far as me - I'm 36, have a BS in Chemical Engineering, work as a quality engineer / quality system coordinator. I own a 2004 GTO (hence the screen-name, Dan's LS1 - the LS1 being the engine shared with latemodel Corvettes and F-bodies) and a 1979 International Harvester Scout II. Obviously the cars are another hobby, and I also chase the ball around the golf course, weather permitting.
    Look forward to checking out more of the awesome builds on the site ;)