Starter Set Question

n2trains

Feb 2, 2004
Visit site
Hello,

I'm an N-scale modeler myself. However, a friend of mine is going to have a baby. I am an uncle figure, so I figured that if it is a boy (we'll find out in a couple weeks) that I'd buy him a train set. Though I figure an HO set would be more suitable for a younger child (it'll be a couple years before he would use it or anything, but I'd like him to have it because I'm EXTREMELY close to the family, and there was a long series of events that led to me saving her life. I thought what better way to celebrate a new (and old) life than with trains, no?

So here's my question: what would be a decent set (I would really like to not buy a CHEAPY bachmann set so it will last a little while) for a younger child? I mean, I'm not going to spend more than $100 on it of course, just in case it gets broken somehow.
now, the requirements are this: E-Z track, life like's locking track or unitrack (do they make it in HO? haven't been in HO for about 10 years+ now...), sturdy, mediumly priced.

Thank you in advance to all,

Brandon

LongIslandTom

Apr 8, 2006
Long Island, NY
Personally, I think HO is too fragile for a young child. I have a young nephew who turned 5 this past September, and even at that age he tend to abuse his toys. I bought him a Thomas the Tank Engine HO set from Bachmann for his birthday, and he treats it pretty roughly. Good thing it was 1) cheap and 2) devoid of delicate detail. The Thomas engine has held up remarkably well thus far.. He dropped it like 2 or 3 times so far, and aside from some dings in the shell, it still runs OK.

I would start with stuff like the Geotrax trains from Fisher Price, and work the kid into HO after he passes 5 years of age.

Just my experience. :thumb:

n2trains

Feb 2, 2004
Visit site
*edit* sorry, I completely forgot to thank you for your advice/input, it's MUCH appreciated! *end edit*