Speed & DCC

CN1

May 6, 2003
How do you use DCC to set the starting power/speed of a loco?

All of my loco, except one, have fabulous slow speed capabilities. They won't move until I dial in about 15-20% power. At that point they just creep forward until I give more "juice".

One, however will move almost right away. As soon as I turn the "control knob" it creeps forward and speeds up quickly. Very poor low-speed control.

How can I change that? Is t because it's a different decoder (Digitrax instead of NCE?)

:wave:

Joepomp

Dec 29, 2002
New Jersey How yous doing
Visit site
I will be no help!

Well I am new to DCC, but you should be able to adjust the engines behavior. I havent done this my self, but the Northcoast decoders have a lot of info on changing speed tables. It looks like a lot of trial and error to get it right.

CN1

May 6, 2003
Try again & again & again & again...

Hmm! I'm trying various setting as we speak but I haven't got a clue how to set it so it starts slower and with more "juice":confused: :mad:

Live and learn and I might had: Be patient!:mad: :curse: :mad:

F

Fred_M

All of them can be progammed for starting voltage. Read The Manual for your DCC control system is my best advise. The brand decoder you are using shouldn't matter a bit if it follows NMRA guidelines. My Prodegy is super simple to set up, but other brands vary in user freindliness. FRED

Gary Pfeil

May 7, 2001
Boonton NJ
Visit site