Some stupid questions

Dashdriver

Dec 26, 2006
PLEASE forgive my ignorance but I haven't been in the model railroad game for almost 20 years and am ready to get going on a basement set up, but, I have some questions.

What is DCC?
What are the best resources to learn wiring and track layout?
Whats best...a DC, DCC or AC set up?

Its funny, I fly very sophisticated airplanes for a living yet this whole wiring and track set-up stuff sounds like Greek to me. Any help would be greatly appreciated. :rolleyes:

CRed

Dec 10, 2006
Duluth,MN
The only dumb question is the one not asked!heh

1)DCC is Digital control,there's people here that can explain it very well
2)here!
3)DCC if you want to run more then one train at once with one controller without worrying about insulating portions of track with insulated joiners and such,but DC is fine too though.

I'm new so there's others that can explain this much better then me.

Welcome to the boards!

Chris

CRed

Dec 10, 2006
Duluth,MN
Like LongIsland Tom,I've only been here a couple weeks or so and I swear I have only seen him in a million threads giving his helpful input:)

pooka2hot4u

May 30, 2006
the difference between DC and DCC is that in DC the train simply runs from current in the track (i think you might know this since it was probably the same when you were in it)
in DCC the current in the track simply drives the motor, yet there is also a signal sent down the track at frequencies unique to each loco which is picked up by a decoder in the appropriate loco, that signal controls speed, direction, lights, sounds and all that fun stuff

and i never heard of running trains on AC, i think thats just for accesories like gates and streetlights

CRed

Dec 10, 2006
Duluth,MN
I belive the older european trains used AC,not sure if they do anymore,but I don't think so.

Chris

Dashdriver

Dec 26, 2006