Some noob questions here...

Discussion in 'Science Fiction & Fantasy' started by davitch, Jan 14, 2009.

1. davitch

davitch Member

I have Google Sketchup and love to use it, was wondering if the models I create in it are easily portable into Pepakura?

Also, I noticed on some of the threads that I read through that the word "greeble" keeps getting referred to. Is this a generic term for 3d details or something else entirely?

Being new to the arena here, I have done some modeling before mostly plastic and I have honed my painting skills on painting Battletech miniatures, but the "laminating" is something I have no experience in. Is there an in depth tutorial on "laminating" with pics as well?

Thanks for reading this and an apology to the moderators if this is in the wrong part of the forum.

2. wccrawford

wccrawford Novice Papercrafter

I haven't gotten into it much yet. (I want to.) But yes, as long as you export in Google Earth 4 format, Pepakura imports them directly. It's supposed to be a really good app for making papercraft because of this.

Edit: Oh, and Google is awesome:
  3. Millenniumfalsehood

Millenniumfalsehood Active Member

As far as I know, they are.

Greebles are bits, odds, and ends that are meant to break up and otherwise flat surface. For instance, the trenches on the sides of an Imperial Star Destroyer are basically a stream of greebles, as are the mechanical bits on the sides and engine deck of the Millennium Falcon. Panel lines don't count, but a vent, handlebar, or hatch would.