Some help creating my layout

Elite Lancer

Nov 9, 2005
OK, I'm a bit new at making layouts, but this is what I have planned so far:

layout2.jpg

The circle is a round house and the lines are track. The roundhouse is going to be on a higher elevation and so I want to make the track below the roundhouse (the area where there are switch tracks) going through a tunnel on the side of the hill the roundhouse is situated on.
I want my layout to be in a mountainous region for cargo trains (mainly transporting coal and ore). It will be in N scale. Now how could I improve this layout? Any help would be much appreciated. :)

Triplex

Aug 24, 2005
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Engine terminals and roundhouses are more usually built on level ground. Besides, you won't have much room to gain elevation in those lead tracks.

What about spurs, sidings, yard?

What size is it? Since you're planning on a roundhouse, I'm assuming steam era - what's the largest engine you expect to run?

Elite Lancer

Nov 9, 2005
Dimensions:

2.5 feet wide (enough to fit through a doorway) and about 4-5 feet long. Again I'm still planning this out so I don't know if I'll have it set permenently on a table I make or have it be able to be taken apart and moved. But the dimensions I gave are about what I can have for now, maybe a bit wider.

Types of trains:

I think I'll have small to large trains on this track. Mainly medium size ones. I'll probably have one small train for pulling small cars (maybe it's own track). I'll have one large train for pulling heavy loads like 90 ton copper cars.

Other stuff:

Have a mine, coal loading station, small yard, some roads, a crane (for almost no reason), and an unloading station.

Triplex

Aug 24, 2005
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
On this size of layout, even 10 freight cars would be big.