Software Contol

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by heli, Oct 19, 2006.

1. heli

heli New Member

I am new to the model train hobby. I have recently put together a layout using bachmann track and an NCE DCC syatem and was wondering what would be the best software to use to control my trains via a computer.

Would appreciate any thoughts.

2. TruckLover

TruckLover Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer

:wave: Hi Heli,

Welcome to the Gauge, I hope you enjoy the ride.

I don't have the slightest clue about DCC/DC :oops: but there are so many people on here that are DCC/DC experts.:D You should get some answers shortly!!:thumb:
  3. Taylor

Taylor New Member

I too am curious about this. I am in the midst of setting up a fairly decent sized layout. I have an older gateway computer that I have sitting in a closet. I was thinking I'd break it out of the closet and use it as part of the DCC system but not sure exactly where to start.
  4. kchronister

kchronister Member

My suggestion is to download the JMRI software package at

It's free, and includes DecoderPro. That's software to program your decoders - far easier than using the throttle (and I have NCE too which is, I think, among the more intuitive ones to use).

It also includes PanelPro, which is software to operate the layout. You get virtual throttles and can even create a "CTC" type panel to operate turnouts, etc. A little bit of work involved in setting that up, but I did so on my old layout and it worked great.

In fact, a "virtual CTC" setup is the only way I'd run turnouts by DCC again. Using the throttle to throw them in walkaround mode got real old real fast - my new layout has old-fashioned toggles in the fascia.

I also liked the ability to call up as many 'throttles' as I wanted in their own windows. No more flipping your throttle between multiple locos or using the 'recall' function. You want to run 6 locos, call up 6 throttles and just flip between them like any other "window" on your computer.