Small 4 x5 around the tree layout question

jflessne

May 10, 2006
Hot Arizona
www.azlivewire.com
Small 4 x4 around the tree layout question

I'm working on a small around the tree layout that is about 4x4. It has a small mountain and a tunnel. I plan to cover the layout with Woodland scenics snow. My question...should I ballast all of the track or just small sections? Should I be concerned with the snow material getting into the engine mechanisms?

A small steamer will go around the track. Radius will be tight so I don't have a lot of options there.

OK, it seems this wont be a "serious" (no offence) model railroad, so, i'd check out, IHC steamers

Some of there freight cars, and, you've got it. track, well, 22" curves are possible, but, 18" are ok

snow, i have no experience, although, i have heard that its eaiser to have a small amount rather than huge drifts, and, if you have it away from the track too (although some could be glued down with ballast)

Ballast as much as you feel like doing

Alex.

Should you ballast all the track? My answer is yes!:D

Will the snow effect the locomotive? That depends on the type of snow you use. If you plan on using Woodland Senic, it wont. Some of the others, you may have troubles.

Andy:wave:

Here one of my web pages that shows snow on my layout. On my new N scale, I'll also have snow. http://www.geocities.com/rockislandline2000/rimodel11.html

pgandw

Jul 9, 2005
My last Christmas layout - which used a Lionel train and track - I used pillow poly fiber batting for the snow. I over-sprayed it lightly with some glitter snow effect to give it a little sparkle in place. I used white glue near the track edge, and tucked or rolled it a little near the track to help avoid getting it in the steam engine valve gear or truck sideframes.

I checked the mechanisms occasionally to make sure they weren't picking up any fibers, and they weren't.