Slow roller

Dave R.

Jul 8, 2007
Sanford Fl.
I'm brand new to the hobby and am sure relieved to find some help. The files have already answered many questions I didn't even know I had. For now my lay-out is the dinning room table but I am clearing room in my shop for a 3X18 ft. bench. My immediate question is about my new Bachmann N 2-6-6-2 Mallet, it runs about 1/3 the speed of my 4-4-0 and my 4-8-4. It's beautifully detailed and looks great running (slowly). Is there a problem with this loco or am I just expecting too much. Is it possible it's running at scale? (the 4-4-0 American runs like a slot car!)
Thanks,
Dave R.

Jim Krause

Apr 7, 2005
Polson, MT
How old are your 4-4-0 and 4-8-4? What brand are they? If they are the older toy train variety equipment, there was no attempt to make them run at anywhere near scale speed. Fast was good. Bachmanns Spectrum equipment is scale in a lot of respects that aren't obvious. My Shays just waddle along at a very slow speed at full throttle. Big gearing reduction.
Then there is the possibility that, being new, the locos drive train is tight or it needs lubrication. There are usually lube instructions with the loco. Running time will loosen things up after a good lube job.
Go to Bachmanns website. They have a service called "Ask Bach Man" or something similar. Ask about the designed speed and see what they can tell you.

Dave R.

Jul 8, 2007
Sanford Fl.
Thanks for the quick response, Jim. The "Prairie Flyer" and "Empire Builder" are both new Bachmann sets. I guess my 6 year old Grandson and I were spoiled by the "non-scale" speed of these first two locos. The 2-6-6-2 is a Spectrum and probably is scale speed (I can't imagine those little drive wheels and rods turning much faster). I'll "Ask Bach Man" just to be sure though. We are very careful to "brake-in" properly.
Our next loco, an Atlas Shay, should be in the mail, thanks for the "just waddles" heads up, I kinda thought that would be the case.
Dave R.

Biased turkey