Since I'm New at This...

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by modelperry, Sep 5, 2007.

1. modelperry

modelperry Member

I am currently working my way through a Maly Modelarz ME109E. I don't think it is very good but I thought it would be a good one to start with. Especially if I completely mess it up. Already the canopy looks terrible. Live and learn.

Who makes GOOD kits of the 109, a FW190, P51 (B or C), ME262, Zero, Corsair and Spitfire in 1:33?:confused:

I know this is somewhat a subjective question, I just want to get some ideas.

2. 46rob

46rob Member

The best kits are generally quite complex as well. GPM, Halinski and a couple others produce world class kits--but not for the faint of heart. Later MM kits are sruprisingly good, too.....but as quality goes up--so does complexity. You might benefit by building some simple kits first--the kind that lack internal bulkheads and formers, to get the hang of shaping paper by itself as a prelude to getting into those more difficult models. The techniques used in the FG 'freebies' are all needed when you graduate to the more advanced stuff. Even with bukheads and wing spars, the need to preshape the paper is of paramount imnportance. There really aren't any really good or really bad modelers....the fit betwen the modeler and the model is the key to a good job.
    And--don't worry--even those of us with years' of modeling behind us started out with less than stellar results. The first one I ever built (FG's Cub) still hangs over my desk--warped wings, twisty fuselage, glue slobbers and all, as a reminder of the progress I've made.
  3. Stev0

Stev0 Active Member

Maly is good to cut your teeth on.

Perhaps scratchbuilding to 'upgrade' the detail is a test of abilities. People like me tend to tackle hard builds first. Running before learning to walk and only end up a little banged up in the end. :D