sidewalks.....

michalfox

Jun 10, 2001
Alto, Mi
Visit site
I'm new to n-scale, and I'm wondering the most realistic way of creating sidewalks. Also I've been looking for mobile homes in "n". Anybody with suggestions for these things would be appreciated.

roryglasgow

Jun 3, 2001
Huntsville, TX USA
web.wt.net
For mobile homes, try NuComp Miniatures, Inc. Their web address is http://www.nucompinc.com/, and they specialize in mobile homes. You can even buy an entire set of kits to build a complete mobile home park! You might want to ask someone at NuComp how they do their sidewalks, too.

Also, check out AMI Instant Roadbed: http://www.ami-roadbed.com/. Their product is a sort of rubber that can be easily molded and painted to make sidewalks, streets, crossings, and (of course) track bed. They have several examples on their website. I once tinkered with their product for use as a track bed, and was very pleased. I still have some left and will be experimenting with using it for sidewalks and city streets sometime in the near future.

Drew1125

Jan 28, 2001
Hi Micalfox!
Welcome aboard!
My favorite material for N scale sidewalks is .020 sheet styrene, painted light gray, or concrete, & weathered.
AS far as mobile homes, there's one in the Walther's catalog - made by Industrial Heritage - part #356-2150
Good Luck!

shamus

Registered Member
Dec 17, 2000
UK
Hi michalfox, Welcome to the gauge,
for sidewalks, depending on what era you are modelling, but I have used 1/8" stripwood for board walks in N-scale, two side by side looks nice.

Cheers Shamus

waver.gif

NARA Member #24
http://www.badger-creek.co.uk

C

Catt

Well michalfox since I'm the moderator for Nscale I guess I'll add my welcome to you right about here.
biggrin.gif

Evergreen the styrene people make sidewalk sheets that you can use also.

Glad to have you aboard
biggrin.gif
Feel free to ask any questions you have there are alot off great people here.

------------------
Catt! NARA#1 & A freelancer for life