Shipyard's 1:96 La Belle Poule build-up =)

Discussion in 'Ship & Watercraft Models' started by gian7675, Aug 16, 2007.

1. gian7675

gian7675 Member

Hi guys!

Anyway, I've decided to start building at least of of the 3 Shipyard Models I bought from JerzyBin of :wave:

I don't want to start off on the 2 bigger ones because this is my first time in building a complex paper model model (and by jaws really dropped when I was looking at Shipyard's instructions :eek:)

So, I decided to strat on the smallest of the 3 namely the French Frigate La Belle Poule :mrgreen:

The first challenge was looking for specific sizes of cardstock... unfortunately... the office supplies here don't seem to understand what I'm looking for...they kept referring me to an artist's Illustration board which is too thick.

I decided to improvise to make my own cardstock. I bought some cheap office file folders wherein I think that glued together with the pattern from the Shipyard Kit would be a good if not perfect fit.

Bought my supplies folder, glue and basic tools, scissors and cutter

And thanks to the B-Manic, dansls1 and Amazyah that identified plashpilat's cutting mat, i was able to get one too (Amazyah, thnaks for the self-healing tip! :wave:)

Day 1:

Cutting the patterns.

After pasting the patterns, I applied paste on the inside of the folders to glue them together.

I immediately encountered a problem with my improvise method, I had to apply paste generously on the inside of the folder to lock them together...but It seems that the folder was warping becasue of the glue :( .

Day 1 and a major problem has already emerged. Warped formers would not do good for the La Belle Poule...sigh! I decided to gamble and continued pasting the Hull formers onto my improvised cardstock method. I'll then place the parts under one of my heavy boxes in my room. Hopefully, the weight would flatten the folders back into position.

Day 2: 24 Hrs later