Shhhhh--crossing over

MrBones

Hi everyone. I have been working on an N-scale layout for several months and adding scenery and cars and just plain investing money in N-scale. I like the size for transportability and empire size.

During Christmas I got out my old HO cheap set for under the tree and it's a no-go.
I would like to upgrade the HO set with new engine/cars and track.

I am thinking maybe a small oval that would be mounted on two pieces of plywood and center cut out for going around the tree in two pieces but with some scenicing added as well.

So my thought is, after reading and searching here, the athearn kit with the trutrack. Any others?

Also, and my main question is what diesel should I be interested in if I was to want to model the first diesel types after the steam era? I am shooting for the mid 1950's era.

Today the wife and I are going to attend an HO club open house and stop at a LHS. If they do not have the kit I am seeking, I may have to compromize.

Thanks for all your help. I really don't have room for 4x8 layout, so I would like to stick with Nscale, but I really like the size of HO engines.............................

Boy can I babble or what?

MrBones

Ray Marinaccio

Hi Mrbones
The Athearn F7 or GP9 would be my choice.
I built a similar layout for under the tree about 15 years ago. It ended up being a permanent layout.

geep15

Wal*Mart has the Athearn John Deere train set. It has an F7, boxcar, flat, tank car, and bay window caboose, all in JD colors. There are also two Model B tractors in the set. Looks like all the cars & diesel have Kadee-compatible couplers, and it comes with a power pack and modular track. It looks pretty neat.

Now not all Wal*Marts have this set, so you may need to check the Athearn website to check for the one near you.

Good luck, and Happy Holidays!:thumb:

(FWIW, I'm an HO scaler myself)

shaygetz