Setting up MY scenery (amusement park theme)

HOcircusman1983

hello there guys, i was wondering if there was a book out there to help me Step-by-step on how to make my own custom scenery.

I want it to look like an amusement park. How do i go about doing that. Im new to all this and have no idea where to begin. I got a few rides so far. Big dipper rollercoaster, Farris wheel, and sky tower. Then a Few HIC carnival rides

any suggestions on how to set it up?

Pooh Bah
Any basic scenery book should help you. Just ignore the chapters on building the appalachians...
I'll assume that an amusement park will be mostly pretty flat, so after you mark out the different areas, find a way to trowel on some plaster, not too smooth, and texture it up for what you want -- walkways, dirt areas, grass.

hooknlad

Tom - i tried to access the link you gave us - the link is claiming that it is FORBIDDEN and I do not have permission to access it from my server . :( I bet it was a cool link. I also am interested in amusement part features as well - some day soon.... Hope all is well with everyone at the gauge!!!

nkp174

HOcircusman1983 said:
getting ready to start woking one my scenery.

DO you all recomend the woodland products?

I love Woodland Scenic products.

If you're building circus stuff, check out Walther's HO scale catalog. Also, you might want to start following the scratching and bashing forum...it might give you some ideas on using Plastitruct abs plastic shapes for building circus signs & such.

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!
I think a park might be relatively easy to create since it will have a fairly well manicured look of small grass areas, walkways, borders, etc. We tend to spend a lot of effort in scenary to make things look less organized and "natural". This will be an interesting project!
Ralph

NYNH&H

Woodland Scenics stuff is awesome and very overpriced. At the same time. Check out that working roller coaster in the Walthers catalog. That thing is so cool!