Self editing of Rail photography ?

cruikshank

I've been a pro photographer for 15 years, but it was all portrait work. I had a good sense for the good the bad and the ugly. I was forced to retire due to 4 back surgeries. Luckily I live very close to a major NS Junction in Reading PA, so I try to shoot alot of them and also old coal mines. My question is how much do you self edit, in oder to not clog your hard drive with useless pics. Do you keep only the wows. The ones that may be sellable, or do you hang onto more just in case. I'm shooting Digital with a Fuji S2, reviewing in ACDSEE and then do any PS work in PSCS. Thanks for any guidance. Dave

cruikshank

I due also, but for me a full card is 114 shots. I use continues drive as the train passes to have a better chance at a god shot. So when you shoot say 100 digital photos how many do you erase. I know the obvious of bad exposure, focus etc. Thanks, again. Dave

Marxed

sorry in advance for blabbering on... i just read my posts and realized i hit on like twenty different topics... sorry :D

i'm camera crazy, i'll go though a pile of batteries and i save every photo, when i need more space on my hard drive i'll burn them to CD's...

i try to take good photos as opposed to crooked ones that need to be cropped... you get better results if you take the picture how you want, than taking it crooked and cropping..... even with my suite of tools for photo manipulation, i don't open photos up in any programs for editing, i'll just take the one i like and resize them with microsoft's powertoys image resize, its a right click/resize fuction that reduces the image size and automatically optimizes for sharing... i've found in this day and age, actually going into whatever photo program you use and resizing, optimizing, and cropping, just doesn't do as much good as it used to... people do horrible things to photos