scratchbuilt Spanish cruiser Infanta Maria Teresa

paperboy

Feb 16, 2005
South Carolina
This is my first build post here @ cardmodels.net and I'm excited to be doing this. i posted here a while ago regarding info on this ship and slowly began to gather information. The Infanta Maria Teresa was the flagship of R. Adm. Cervera at the battle of Santiago during the Spanish-American war and was the lead ship of 3 in it's class of protected cruiser. These ships were an offshoot of the British Orlando cruisers and I think are pretty distinctive looking. I want to credit Jose Pillet for all the information that he has provided in my endeavor. I'll add more next week as I build more , so for now here are a few pics.

Vern

Attachments

• SSCN0477.JPG
    SSCN0477.JPG
    59.1 KB · Views: 568
  • SSCN0478.JPG
    SSCN0478.JPG
    63.1 KB · Views: 282
  • SSCN0479.JPG
    SSCN0479.JPG
    57.2 KB · Views: 269
  • SSCN0476.JPG
    SSCN0476.JPG
    63.1 KB · Views: 438

paperboy

Feb 16, 2005
South Carolina
Yes I used line drawings of the ship as well as deck plans and hull lines as drawn by Julio Pillet, which I believe he had gotten from Spanish Naval Archives and after settling on 1/200 scale began preparing a waterline base main deck and centerline profile of the ship. hull lines were reproduced on the computer and cut and laminated as were the other main forms. The planking was hand drawn in and the deck was colored with a Prismacolor Goldenrod pen that I think looks really good. I used textured 110 lb watercolor paper so the deck has some character. I have realized that I made a mistake on the
bow and stern cannon ports. I'll have to figure out how to fix that. Early this week i will be installing the deck houses and completing the main deck gun shielding. Before this project I have only done models produced by Maly and JSC. so actually have to figure out how to make everything has been a lot of fun. I'll post more as I get a chance.

Vernon

lrjanzen

Jul 17, 2006