scale sizes for mountains & buildings

Wyndigo

Hi everyone :wave: I'm new to the hobby and was wondering, in HO scale what is the approximate size of a mountain compared to the trains, I've seen pictures where they used 2" thick foam stacked up around 5 or 6 layers high then thinned down with knives/scrapers/etc. Also I built a sawmill (Atlas model) and compared to the locomotive (Athearn Diesel HO) it looks small.

Wyndigo

N

nachoman

nearly all buildings and scenery is scaled down relative to the trains, because even the smallest scale hill in HO would be huge. Let's say a hill just 200 feet tall - a steep hillslope is 30 degrees - the angle of repose for most unconsolidated materials. That means the base would be about 700 scale feet across. there are 87 scale feet in a foot, so that means a mountian about 2.5' tall and 8' across. None ov us have that kind of space to devote to that. And keep in mind, 200 foot tall mountian in real life is barely a hill.

Another reason for making things smaller is perspective. How far away something appears to us depends upon it's apparent size. The size something appears depends upon the optics of our eyes. remember, we can't scale down the distance between our eyeballs, so scale buildings and scenery anywhere beyond our sunject of interest (the trains) would look HUGE and dominate the scene. Ideally, you want the things further from your eyes to be smaller than scale, to fool your eye into thinking they are far away.

kevin

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!