saving and printing

Discussion in 'Gallery & Designs' started by paper_dude, May 18, 2007.

1. paper_dude

paper_dude New Member

Hi everyone, sweet forum. I'm new to card modelling. I built my first cardmodel of a howitzer in the original Sketchup that I have (from an old 2D version of the software). It didn't come out so great, but it was a nice start.

Now I use Sketchup 6 and Pepakura 2. I've made a simple M113 style APC and a CH-47 Chinook. Both have come out pretty nice using textures made with MS Paint.

When I go to print, however, it says that my printer settings don't match, and it asks if I want to adjust it. I always say ok, and it prints out fine.

When I export the model to a BMP file, it's HUGE. Like 18 sheets of paper. I have to force it to shrink down to one page.

I would like to distribute the model at some point, but on only a single sheet of paper, preferably PDF, but that's not a requirement.

Anyone know how to make Pepakura 2 save the BMP image to a one sheet size BMP?

Any help appreciated! :)

BTW, the scale of the model in Sketchup is:
    Length: 360 cm
    Width: 180 cm
    Height: 150 cm

I just chose those numbers to work from for no particular reason. Maybe I should design the model to a smaller size?
  2. Amazyah

Amazyah Senior Member

Great to hear from you paper dude!
    I am sorry, I wish I could help you out but you will have to wait for one of the real designers.
    All I can do is welcome you, so Welcome to the forum!

I started playing around with sketchup a couple weeks ago and although I am thoroughly impressed, I am still a novice at it.
    I think it is a great program though and has been the easiest to learn out of all of them.
    I am sure you will get some help shortly, just hang in there.

3. paper_dude

paper_dude New Member

more info

Thanks Amazyah!

I've included some images that might help a little.

Not bad for a generic APC, huh?