Sand and trains?

Toddo

Jan 18, 2007
Easton, MD
56weeksofcreek.blogspot.com
I'm very new to this train thing. Amazing how some moded trains can jumpstart an interest in the Proto's we see everday in our lives.

The question is what does sand have to do with trains? I have seen a few tidbits about sand and was wondering what's up?

Thanks in advance,
Toddo

CCT70

Jun 25, 2003
There are usually a hopper at each end of a locomotive that carries sand and distributes it via pipes in front of the wheels for traction. When starting a train, the engineer can apply sand as needed via a valve handle in the cab. Newer locomotives have automatic sanders.

Mountain Man

Jan 19, 2007
COMBAT said:
Traction! :)

Not just "traction"...

Onn a television documentary on the history of freight railroading yesterday, one of the modern rail lines spoke knowledgably about the "traction control devices" installed on all their newest freght locomotives. Then they let the cat out of the bag by talking to the engineer on camera, who revealed that this "traction control device" is...sand. :rolleyes:

Tune in next week when he hear the story of how the engineers have been reclassified as "throttle retention devices", aka the nuts that hold the levers.

COMBAT

Oct 28, 2006
Phoenix
Mountain Man said:
Not just "traction"...

Onn a television documentary on the history of freight railroading yesterday, one of the modern rail lines spoke knowledgably about the "traction control devices" installed on all their newest freght locomotives. Then they let the cat out of the bag by talking to the engineer on camera, who revealed that this "traction control device" is...sand. :rolleyes:

Tune in next week when he hear the story of how the engineers have been reclassified as "throttle retention devices", aka the nuts that hold the levers.

Call it what you like, but ut all comes down to, traction. sign1

Hunkiedoo

Dec 1, 2002
Toronto, Canada
Visit site
More comments about sand.