Discussion in 'Architecture Models' started by JRSeese, Feb 29, 2004.

1. JRSeese

JRSeese Member

First post of the forum, huzzah! :D

It seems that architecture is not a very popular genre among this group, but it is my favorite type of model. Aside from the fact that it is somewhat easier to find beginner's models - and I am a beginner as you all know - my brief schooling in graphic arts included a course in classic architecture that I remember fondly.

Current project = My back has been hunched over my work table for a few weeks working on a model of Notre Dame Cathedral. It is a die cut model from IDA3D, but very well designed, so don't hold that against it.

A nice kit for $20 on eBay; it came in a fascinating box fashioned like an old fashioned suitcase! There were a LOT of goodies inside, really everything needed to complete the model except the blade (a tube of UHU type glue, large piece of corrugate for the base with a poster to cover it, a sheet of faux grass, a lighting kit, some trees, some cellophane windows, two pink people and a pink car...need paint too I guess)

At this point I am near completion; I only need to finish the main spire and the the 30+ support structures - what a pain in the buttress! Then *try* to install the lights and grass. The results have been really good considering the skill level of the builder. It's really an easy kit considering the number of parts. My only disappointment is the cellophane windows - the "Rose Windows" are the highlight of the building IMO but are indistinct blurs in this version, would have paid $10 more for some detailed windows.

Like to try the Instant Durable version some day...!!
    Like to see the real thing even more...!!

Nice views of the real deal at

Fascinating but concise history of the cathedral at

Low quality pictures to follow,

2. Gil

Gil Active Member