S Scale Canadian Grain Hoppers?

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by riverotter, Nov 27, 2007.

1. riverotter

riverotter Midwest Alliance Rail Sys

I'm mainly an HO modeler, but I've been acquiring a collection of S scale equipment, and I've been toying with making a bigger commitment to S (even if I have to sell some of my HO to do it), but I have about 200 HO grain hoppers, mainly Red Canadas, Saskatchewans, and Canada Wheat Boards, and I can't find anything like these in S scale. If there aren't any, that will pretty much put a damper on things in S scale for me, so does anyone know of a source or sources for Canadian Cylindrical Grain Hoppers (ACF 4650cuft)? Thanks a lot!
  2. Renovo PPR

Renovo PPR Just a Farmer

I'm not going to say there aren't any but I have never seen any. However O gauge is loaded with them. I'm a big CN fan and I run the 100 ton grain rollingstock.

See Video

YouTube - My world
  3. Greg Elems

Greg Elems Member

Hi again Riverotter,

Kaslo Shops has a kit for the cylindrical hoppers.
    Kaslo Shops Distributing
    Nothing ready to run but I have five of those kits and they look like they will build up into nice cars.

4. Renovo PPR

Renovo PPR Just a Farmer

WOW Greg those come with one heck of a price tag. They are more than double what I paid for mine.
  5. Greg Elems

Greg Elems Member

Yeah, unfortunately they're pricey. They are nice cars though. If there were more of us who wanted them then the price would be lower. Also consider the price of brass cars, they'd be more than twice the price.

6. riverotter

riverotter Midwest Alliance Rail Sys