Rules for switching / operations?

BrianK

May 1, 2006
Texas
I've been searching through this forum trying to get some information but being a newbie, I'm swamped with a lot of stuff I don't quite understand.

I'm just not quite sure what the rules of the rail are and I'm having a hard time finding information about it. Rather than attempt to post what I think I know, I'm going to try and not look too much like a retard and ask if anyone knows of any good websites or other sources of information that will explain the basic rules of the rail. How a train on a main line will drop off and pick up cars at different industries and such.

Like, will a train on a main line switch to a branch line, stop, drop off some cars and leave... then a switcher (small loco?) comes and takes those cars, and puts them in the correct location to load up or empty? If there are two main lines, with trains running in opposing directions, are there any rules or right of way for the cars to be dropped on a branch line and picked up by the switcher?

Wow... I hope I don't look like a moron sign1 be nice please :D

BrianK

May 1, 2006
Texas
After some more searching I found what looks to be a good resource. I'm going to read through it and see if it answers my questions. Here's the link in case anyone else is interested:

http://www.vetmed.auburn.edu/~smithbf/BFSpages/LDSIGprimer/Operations.html

Edit:

Yup... I found a very good resource. Here is the full source, the link above is just a sub section.

http://www.vetmed.auburn.edu/~smithbf/BFSpages/LDSIGprimer/

There is a LOT of information here so hopefully someone else will find it useful.

Edit again:

Here is another link with more good information for newbies like me:

http://rail.felgall.com/tpo.htm

2-8-2

Jan 6, 2005
Delaware, Ohio
www.wn-rr.net
Nice find, Brian...I was going to post that link to aid you in your search, but you found it yourself! :thumb: