Roto

Woodie

Mar 23, 2001
Northern Rivers NSW Australia
Some pics of a recent trip out western New SOuth Wales.

Roto is a place (not a town) 706kms from Sydney (14hrs down the track), on the main national east/west standard guage line.
At the junction of the Broken Hill Line and the Roto Line

A National Rail Freight speeds through Roto.

Attachments

• rotonrdistance.jpg
    rotonrdistance.jpg
    14.9 KB · Views: 108

Woodie

Mar 23, 2001
The Road

The road that follows the rail line, for many thousands of kilometres, pretty much from one side of the country to the other.
The road is littered with dead kangaroos. Hundreds of tonnes of train can't stop when roos are on the tracks.

Attachments

• rotoroad.jpg
    rotoroad.jpg
    14.5 KB · Views: 92

rich maiorano

Apr 27, 2002
levittown pa
you have to watch out for them roos I seen your land trains to down there and there roo bars on them I drive a tractor trailer for a living and them guys are nuts :p rich

Woodie

Mar 23, 2001
Diogenes Datsun

BTW, Diogenes Datsun, (the white one in the pics) is no more. I recently sold it to a friend, who, 6 weeks after I sold it to him, fell asleep at the wheel and ran off the road. Wrote it off. He wasn't hurt except for a few bruises.

Bob Collins

Feb 1, 2001
Council Bluffs, IA
Visit site
Woodie;

Is this then the line that the Indian Pacific travels? I have read about Broken Hill somewhere, possibly in Bryson's book. When you say standard gauge are we talking 4' 81/2" or 5 foot?

Who is the other Aussie who has come up on the net recently besides triman?

Bob

Woodie

Mar 23, 2001
Bob,
Yep. That is the line travelled by the Indian Pacific. The spot is about 2 hrs west of Euabalong West. The IP passes this spot at about 4am westbound, and around 8pm eastbound. (pretty much in the dark). However, a daylight service from Sydney to Broken Hill has now been introduced, which has the whole trip in daylight, both ways. ($220 AUS ($110 US) return 1st class).