Road bed for Modules

stump7

May 15, 2005
Albuquerque, NM
Hi Folks

I am a newbie to modular railroading. My previous layout was a moderate sized double deck affair using traditional L girders, plywood/homasote roadbed carried on wooden risers. I’ve followed the links found on this forum and used all the great information available so I now have two module boxes 30” x 72” built and filled with foam board. However, I can find nothing so far on the next step, laying down roadbed. Does one use a plywood base with homosote over the foam? Does one glue just homosote to the foam (what about warping?)? Or do you just glue the track directly to the foam? How does one treat elevation, which I will have since I am doing a logging scene? Any suggestions or leads to information would be greatly appreciated.

Stump7

Yard Goat

May 24, 2005
Ottawa, ON
Forget the Homasote and plywood. The whole point of going with foam as your base material is to reduce the weight of the module, allowing for easier setup, teardown and transportation.

First thing I would recommend is painting the entire top deck of your module with brown or tan latex paint to cover the pink or blue foam. Painting the whole module inside and out helps to seal moisture out and is easiest to do before you lay track.

You can glue track directly to the foam using Liquid Nails or yellow carpenters glue--not white glue, since that can dissolve if you use water-soluble techniques for ballasting and scenery. Glueing the track right to the foam is easy and gives you a flat track profile which works for yards, industrial trackage, logging lines and the like. The main problem with that approach is that trains rolling over your module will make a lot of noise as the foam resonates with the track.