Richard's Fokker E-III and Morane Saulnier

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by Amazyah, Aug 24, 2006.

1. Amazyah

Amazyah Senior Member

This will be a new adventure for me as I have only built a couple of Fiddler's Green's aircraft.
    This is my first attempt of both an aircraft with formers and one from this fantastic era of aviation history.
    Because I am traversing new territory, I feel I must jump in with both feet, so to speak, so...
    I have decided to not only tackle Richard's wonderful repaint of an English Fokker E-III and Morane Saulnier but that I will throw in the Turkish version of the Fokker E-III as well. I really like the coloring of this one and have had my eye on it for quite a while now.
    This is also my first build thread so if I'm going to jump in with both feet I might as well do it running and with a little flair, eh?
    Another first here, is using image shack, I sure hope I do this right and the images show up.
    Three builds, one thread, and image shack, new territory all! Let us hope I do not crash and burn!

And here we go!

First step was a little experimenting with laminating different thicknaess' of card stock to obtain the right thickness' for the formers.
    I made a little area for spraying adhesive and spread some news papers to catch the overspray.

After experimenting for a while I found some paper combinations that I think will work. I used Duro All Purpose Spay adhesive and a set of calipers to get to this point. Here are the five sheets I ended up with.

Next, I printed all three aircrafts...

The Captured Fokker with English markings.

The Marane Saulnier.

Finally, the Turkish version of the Fokker E-III.

I also hung the plans for the Fokker on each side of my monitor so they are always handy and not taking up valuable work space.
    Support for the plans is provided by bamboo skewers taped together and then to the monitor.

I will continue in the next post.