Review: Fokker DR-1 Triplane from Classic Paper Planes

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by ekuth, Mar 7, 2007.

1. ekuth

ekuth Active Member

Having had the Classic Paper Planes book gathering dust on my bookshelf for quite awhile, and having a few cardmodels under my belt now, I decided to crack open the book and have a go at the Fokker DR-1.

I've always loved this particular plane, so it seemed a likely candidate out of the planes given.

As an experienced cardmodel builder, I do have a few issues with the model(s):

1. Poor texture alignment when printed. Whether this is a fault of the printer who did the books or the design, I can't tell. More than likely the printer, though, as the planes in this book are die-cut. I suspect that the machine was out of alignment for the cutting process.

2. Die-cut parts. This could be an advantage to some modelers, but I found myself frustrated by the issues presented in #1 that could have been avoided had I been able to cut the parts on my own. Plus, you end up trimming everything anyway to remove the die tabs.

3. Poor directions. Each plane is presented with an exhaustive history, but you are only given a bare minimum diagram to assemble the plane by. No indication is given as to the placement of interior or exterior parts, and often the placement of smaller parts is extremely vauge. I found myself constantly referring to the one color photo of the model on the front cover of the book to attempt to puzzle things out. A general "how to build" section is presented in the beginning of the book, but no specifics. This includes what parts should be laminated to cardstock, or what appropriate weight of paper to use.