researching a layout

Discussion in 'Model Rail Operations' started by Kim Paynter, Dec 31, 2004.

1. Kim Paynter

Kim Paynter New Member

I am new to this hobby and I am trying to come up with Ideas for my layout. I have all ways been imppressed with a rail line that served, the mining community in the southern interior of BC from 1892-1914 This being the Kaslo & Slocan (K&S) Railway. Serving about 23 -25 miles of some of the most chalnging terain ever to have track laid on it. The elevation from the lake head at Kaslo to the town at the end of the rails is all most 3000 feet difference. The rail line was originaly built by J. J. Hill & financed by the Great Northern it was built with 3' gauge rails. Originaly they had 3 locomotives a 2-8-0 Baldwin and two 2-6-0 Baldwins. I have trying to research these and It seems the 2-6-0's are exclusively narrow gauge trains. And as of yet I can't find one in any scale but I think I found something like it in HOn3.

In 1914 the CNR bought the K&S and re-layed standard gauge rails

How they got around the tight corners I will never know?

My thoughts were to build both ends of the line like the original and make joining single track section representing some of the most dramatic tressels, tunnels and cliff faces. And there are a few small mining camps and mines along the route for more interest?

What kind of grade is acceptable for models I don't want to burn up my locomotives?

Any ideas as to how I can go about trying to maintain some integrity without getting into an expencive narrow gauge situation. As I think in the long run I would be happier with an HO setup?

Might I regret modeling for the 1900's when choice of engins was so limited?