Real ballast, amazing variety

Biased turkey

Apr 10, 2006
Montreal, Canada Eh
I went down to the local railrod track in St. Laurent ( a suburb of Montréal ) , picked some real ballast sample within a square meter area ( a square yard for our friends south of the border :) )
And gues what ? none of them looks alike ( I'm not a geological expert )
I always tgought that the blallast used in a track come from the same area, but obviously it doesn't.
I'm puzzled

Cannonball

More Trains Than Brains
Dec 4, 2006
St. Joseph, MO
I've never really paid much attention to it recently.
The two most common I've seen are granite and some pumus looking stuff.
Never quite the mixture you have there though.

Biased turkey

Apr 10, 2006
Montreal, Canada Eh
I'm puzzlzed because the rock with the red arrow is really very porous ( spelling warning ) and light , like a volcano rock ( as far as I know there is no volcano in Québec ) while the stone with the blue arrow is like a regular stone with some pigeon **** ( sorry, but it's the best way to describe it ) :)
Any geologist lurking around here ?

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
I think some railroads may buy and haul in all of their ballast from one area, while others buy whatever is the least expensive at the time they need it. Then you get some areas where two or three railroads operate, and you can find anything there. Here in So Cal most of the ballast on the BNSF is red rock, but up on Cajon Pass where the BNSF shares trackage rights with U.P. and the old S.P. main runs parrallel to the BNSF main, I've seen ballast that is speckled. It appears to be ecqual parts of BNSF red and S.P./U.P. grey. By the way, you can find out if the light weight grey rock is pumice by putting it in a bucket of water. If it is pumice, it willl float.

railohio

Dec 29, 2000
The pumice might also be coke shaken from a passing train. It too is porous and light. I can't really tell from the photos posted.

2-8-2

Jan 6, 2005