RE: New Guy on the Block w/Loco question

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by MalletFan, Jul 15, 2004.

1. MalletFan

MalletFan New Member

Hello. I'm new here, and overwhelmed by the size (for me), and the complexity of the forum (I'm also new to the computer). I'm a retired Honeywell factory worker, age: 61, live in Morgan Park, (Smithville) area of West Duluth, MN USA. My main hobby is scale plastic aircraft. As a boy, I grew up near the Proctor, MN DM&IR Railroad Yards, at the end of the "steam" era...I wish to construct a NON-WORKING, HO scale DISPLAY MODEL of an MALLET 2-8-8-4 M-3 Baldwin Locomotive. I am completely NEW to railroading, and don't know a SINGLE thing about the hobby. Now, here is my dilemma. I have the NON-OPERATING - Monogram Plastic "Snap-tite" HO scale engine, (kit #-1602) labeled as a Mallet of the DM&IR. I soon found out that it is really molded as an Union Pacific "Big Boy", and QUITE dilfferent in shape & detail from the DM&IR Mallet. My question is: "Can I get there from here" ? Are there accessory parts (plastic or resin, I hope) that I can obtain to change the configuration...and, where to obtain & at what price. The only documentation I have to work with are, a drawing (right side only), in the Model Railroader 'Cyclopedia VOL-1, Pages 258 & 259. and, the hard-cover book, "The Missabe Road", by Frank A. King; and, KALMBACH'S volumn, "Building Plastic Railroad Models". (by the way, I have 3-each of the Monogram kits...figured I could "graft or lengthen" from the conglomerate).

I would be very grateful for any advice, (is this a possible project ?), recommendations as to 3 or 4-view drawings, construction practices, books, materials, etc. I can't justify spending the BIG BUCKS for a rare, brass, operating loco, just for my nostalgia. (if I could even find one)!

Thanks for reading this,

Jerry Robinson ("MalletFan")
  2. sumpter250

sumpter250 multiscale modelbuilder