Radio Control

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by KentHart, Mar 2, 2001.

1. KentHart

KentHart New Member

I've been building a Civil War era G Scale railway for about three years and maintaining the track is a lot of work in Iowa. I'm interested in converting my engines to Radio Control but no experience in this area. I've seen the last two articles in Garden Railways, but they seem pretty weak. Does anyone know an easy way to get into this and/or a good book on the subject with easy to follow instructions, sort of like Computers for Dummies? Thanks.
  2. kf4jqd

kf4jqd Active Member

Hello Kent:

I may help you out. You may want to go to your local hobby shoppe where they sell radio controlled cars and aircraft. There are books out there about it. Since I am not into the RC field. I can't give you any names.

I am a Ham Radio Operator. I know in this hobby. There are many articles about rc. However, you must be a lisence Ham Operator to use the frequencies. But it does give you some general information. You can also check out The best bet is go to your local hobby store or libarary.

All the best,
  3. Dave Harris

Dave Harris Member