Question about Remote Control Switch

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by UncleJim, Nov 30, 2006.

1. UncleJim

UncleJim New Member

I'm a newbie and have an 027 three-rail train set that I'm just starting to set up. I want to buy some additional track so I can make a larger layout. My local hobby shop wants $47.00 for an 027 remote control switch (27 inch left or right hand). I searched on the internet and found the same switch selling for $19.00. Both are brand new and made by Lionel. Is there really that much of a price difference between retail stores and the internet? The internet website will add $8.00 for shipping and handling but even so, it's a lot cheaper. Or is there something else I'm not taking into consideration if i buy through the internet? Do most all of you buy your train supplies from the internet?
  2. spankybird

spankybird OTTS Founder

The Lionel catalog list price for 027 remote switches at $19.99. Maybe you beter find a new local store to shop at.
  3. Dave Farquhar

Dave Farquhar Member

$47 is awfully high. I try to buy locally for a couple of reasons, one being the ultruistic wish to support my local economy as much as I can, but secondly, I've got three really good hobby shops with friendly and helpful staff 10 minutes away or less and I'd like to keep it that way. :) But all of them keep their prices fair too.

I have ordered online before when they didn't have something I wanted, or when there was just too much of a price difference. If you can't get what you need at a reasonable price from your local dealer or a local show, then by all means, buy it online.

If you're comfortable doing this, you can ask your local dealer the same question you asked us--why does he charge $47 for a switch when retail is $20 and some places will sell it for $19. Maybe there's something we're missing, or maybe he'll come down. I hate confrontation so I tend not to do this, but some people will.