Question about flex track

conor

Ok this is definately going to seem like a stupid question to all of you but im new to this so im going to ask it anyway.

Waht form does flex track come in. Does it come with the two rails parallel to each other and attached to sleepers or does it just come as two seperate pieces of rail that have to spaced perfectly parallel to each other. I know that sounds confusing so ill draw it

does it come like this

---------------------------------
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | ==== Sleepers

or this

sumpter250

multiscale modelbuilder
Flex track is two rails mounted on ties (sleepers), 36" long (HO) 30"(N), which can be formed into curves of any radius (including "S" curves), or layed straight, as desired.
Pete

conor

excellent, thanks for the reply. 1 more question though, say i make a curve with flex track would the tworails not come closer to each other?

sorry i should also have added this question:
If i had a straight piedce of flex track and i want to put in a turnout. Can you cut the flex track to the size you want it. And also is this the kind of stuff that i want?
www.internettrains.com/022-sl100.html

3phase

The best thing with flex track is you can do anything you want with it. I suggest getting the right tools to cut it with, there is a specail saw and holding tool to handle it with. You however have to have extreme pationts with it. I also suggest soldering the ends in a bend befor nailing the track down, it makes for a smoother bend. Please take a look at my layout, done entirely in flex track. I hope i have helped.

neilmunck

When you curve a piece of flexitrack (as we call it over here!) the rail on the inside of the curve protrudes from the end of the section of track because it is going round a curve with a smaller radius so the 36" length of rail gives a longer arc.

Net result being;

----------- rail on outside of curve
l l l l l l l l l sleepers/ties
---------------- rail on inside of curve