Project Steam.

Cummins

May 4, 2005
Derbyshire, England
Hi everyone!
My first (and hopefully not last) post here. I'm new to Railway Modelling but no stranger to static modelling which I have been doing for 10 years (80% of my life! :p ). Due to space regulations, I have chosen N gauge as my chosen scale. The area I have is in my bedroom. It is 10'x4' with an extra 2x2 1/2' section on the right hand side for further expansion. I will try and add images soon.

I would like to model Auropean Line in a circuit. I am not a big man (literally! :eek:ops: ) for research and will not be basing it on a real site. Instead, it will be set in a fictional town in Germany (or somewhere else) and I need some inspiration for ideas/research plans. I have decided to base it on the era of around the 1890-1950s when there was large express trains in use. One of the problems is budget. I intend to buy a train (for scale purposes) and all the track. This will allow me to build the board and scenery and wiring, meaning all I have to then do is buy rolling stock and controller/transformer/other electric accessories etc. My up front budget is around £150-£250. This must account for wood, one locomotive (preferably a smaller freight) and obviously the track/scenery/any other expenses. When I have the board set up, then I will invest in a good controller.

At the moment, I am considering a double loop layout which is a simplified version of a track I found in a book devised for 10x2 1/2'. It is interesting because it has a loop which can reverse the direction of the train and swap lanes so that both loops are running in opposite directions. It will become clear what I mean when I upload pics.

The frame is going to a be 2x1" timbre with 9mm plywood beams. The baseboard is going to be 1/2" insulating board. The layout can be fixed. I would like to incorporate some drawers into the frame for storage of tools etc.