Printing white

ezdays

Out AZ way
I would like to make some decals with white lettering and am kinda stumped. Pete, (Sumpter250), did a great job on the C&H car he left on a siding on the CSRR a few weeks ago, and he says he uses an Alps printer. Does anyone know another way to do this? I guess I could use rub-on letters, but they don't make them small enough for N and they don't have the Canyon State RR logotype on them either. I have done screenprinting but don't have the equipment anymore, beside I worked on large stuff and doubt that I could do that sized fonts.

I have some white background decal material, but then I'd have to get an exact match on the car color for that to look right, especially black on black.

I think I'm out of workable ideas, anyone else got some?

Don

Matthyro

Will always be re-membered
You are not alone Don, I have given up trying to make decals as home made ones with an ink jet printer only work with a dark text or pattern that is placed on a light coloured object. I wanted some white letters to put on a tender of steam loco and have not been able to do so. The white backed decal paper only works if you cut the decal out and that is a pain and doesn't look right.

crazy, but it worked.

A few years ago I had the same problem. I went to Kinkos with a 5" x 5" copy of a logo. They reduced it to n scale and laser printed it on to white sticker sheet. I cut it, carefully peeled the adhesive backing and presto!!!! It was so thin, it looked alot like a decal to the untrained eye.

Ray Marinaccio

I know people that refill their own ink cartriges in there printers. I wonder if one could flush out an old black ink cartrige and refill it with white ink. Then you could set up your logo on the computer as black and print it on your clear decal sheet in white.
Not sure what kind of ink you would use.
Anyone in the printing industry amung us?

ezdays

Out AZ way
CS,