Printing enlarged jpeg

Discussion in 'Tips, Tutorials & Tools' started by rockpaperscissor, Mar 6, 2007.

1. Greetings all! I have the jpeg files for Lara Croft (about 90-95% built, new thread eventually), but she is a little small as is. I'd like to build a larger version. I plan on using Photoshop to enlarge the parts by about 50%. Does anyone know what the affects might be on the resolution? My crappy old printer makes things fuzzy enough without any help from me! Would it be advisable to "sharpen" each file after enlargement, or would that make matters worse? I'm far from a Photoshop expert, so forgive me if this is a less than brilliant question.
  2. thewoodengraver

thewoodengraver Active Member

Best to enlarge, print, and use your eyeballs!
    If the printing is acceptable to you, HAPPY!
  3. charliec

charliec Active Member

You'll probably find that enlarging a jpeg will introduce artifacts in the image - this is a consequence of jpeg being a lossy compression format. You may get better results by converting your small jpeg to a .tiff and enlarging that. You may get a fairly rough enlarged image but you won't have artifacts. Sharpening
    will help but probably not as much as you would expect or like.

4. Kaz

Kaz Member

I cant see that converting a lossy format to a different one, will bring back any 'lost' information.
    Any conversion will bring about errors and converting from one, to another, will excaerbate any artifacts, before you even enlarge it.
    I would suggest that enlarging from your original (be it .jpg or whatever) will get you the best result.
    Sharpening will only make the pixels more jagged. It looks fine on the PC screen, but worse as a printed image
  5. thewoodengraver

thewoodengraver Active Member

converting will not bring it back but will make it easier to edit by hand.
  6. charliec

charliec Active Member

I'll withdraw my suggestion.